​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Wilkin Chair Series

About the Wilkin Chair Series

Starting in 2006, the University of Findlay College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences established a faculty chair program as a way to honor individuals for distinguished service in their subject area. The Richard E. Wilkin Chair is named in honor of Dr. Richard E. Wilkin, former administrator of the Churches of God, General Conference; a member of the University of Findlay's Board of Trustees; and a longtime friend of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences at the University of Findlay. 

The Wilkin Chair is awarded annually to a faculty member in the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences who embodies excellence in scholarship, teaching and service. Faculty members must be tenured and have attained the rank of Associate Professor or Professor to be eligible. ​The Wilkin Chair is expected to present his or her scholarly topic to the University and community, host a convocation event and provide a selected activity for students. It is expected that the Wilkin Chair serves as an exemplary faculty member and mentor for younger faculty to aspire to. 

Wilkin Events : 2021-2022

Friday, September 3 — 9am until (time TBD)
Doodle Day and The Power of Sketchnoting
Gardner Fine Arts Pavillion - Great Hall

Friday, September 24, 2021 – 3:30pm
Building Creative Communities
Len Wilson, Author of Think Like a 5-Year Old
TLB Christian Fellowship Room (CBSL 136)
AND virtual

Friday, November 5, 2021 – 3:30pm
Schools as a Creative Workplace
Jodi Nyboer

Friday January 21, 2022 at 3:30pm
Book Club
This Proud Heart by Pearl S. Buck (1938)
Available in Shafer Library & Interlibrary Loan / Kindle $11

Friday, March 11, 2022 – 3:30pm
Science and Cognition of Creativity
Aaron Kozbelt

Friday, April 8, 2022 – 3:30pm
Creative Confidence & Risk-Taking
Andy J. Pizza

Tuesday, April 19, 2022  
World Poetry Day: Poetry and the Creative Mind
Readings. Open Mic?

Thursday, April 21, 2022
World Creativity Day
The Fun Work of Creativity with activities for everyone

All events are free and open to the public.​

Past Wilkin Chairs

2020-21 Anne Beekman

2019-20 Dr. Diana Montague

2018-19 Dr. Andrea Mata

2017-18 Dr. Christine Tulley

2016-17 Dr. Paul Chwialkowski

2015-16 Dr. Marie Louden-Hanes

2014-15 Mr. David Essinger

2013-14 Dr. Kathy Mason

2012-13 Dr. Ronald J. Tulley

2011-12 Dr. Matthew Stolick

2010-11 Dr. John Malacos

2009-10 Dr. Louis Stulman

2008-09 Dr. Nicole Diederich

2007-08 Dr. Raymond J. McCandless

2006-07 Dr. Michael Reed