​​​​Excel@Teaching 2018

Engaging Diverse Learners

Denecker, Christine.png

Christine Denecker, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
Professor of English

Welcome!


Welcome to Excel@Teaching 2018 sponsored by the University of Findlay’s Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE). This year’s theme, “Engaging Diverse Learners,” puts the spotlight on teaching practices that support students with various learning backgrounds and abilities.

From cultivating student voices and creating inclusive learning environments to promoting experiential opportunities and practicing cultural humility—the sessions at this conference promise to energize participants in their shared goal of building bridges across differences and developing spaces where meaningful learning can take place. In addition, Excel@Teaching 2018 offers a unique opportunity for participants to engage in cross-disciplinary and cross-institutional pedagogical conversations that lead to the exploration and celebration of best teaching practices in higher education.

Prepare to be inspired, motivated, and engaged as you give witness to and share what it means to “Excel at Teaching,” a motto, which is at the heart of the CTE’s mission. Thanks for being a part of this transformational day!​


 
Sarah Fedirka

Sarah Fedirka, Ph.D.

Excel @ Teaching Committee Chair
Associate Professor of English
Excel @ Teaching began as an idea—wouldn’t it be great to have a space to share our teaching success and challenges. The classroom can be an isolating place, so Excel @ Teaching was designed to equip and reenergize faculty through interdisciplinary dialogue and shared best practices. Now in its fourth year, Excel @ Teaching continues to grow beyond our original aspirations. For 2018, we look forward to continued participation from teachers and educators at the University of Findlay and from the broader regional community. In line with this year’s theme engaging diverse learners, Excel @ Teaching 2018 promises to offer wide-ranging perspectives on creating inclusive classrooms, practicing cultural humility, and developing student voices.

This year we are excited to introduce two new features: a networking session that will allow conference attendees the opportunity to exchange ideas more casually in a small group setting and a Reading Source room, where attendees can bid on books of personal and professional interest.

Excel @ Teaching is one of my favorite campus events. Each year, I come away inspired by my colleagues and energized for the work we collectively do. I hope you will join us in 2018 for what I know will be a day of robust conversation about college teaching at all levels.​​


University of Findlay Committee Members:

 
Allison Baer (College of Education) baer@findlay.edu                     ​​​ 
Chris Denecker (Center for Teaching Excellence) denecker@findlay.edu        
Sarah Fedirka (College of Liberal Arts) fedirka@findlay.edu
Andrew Hvizdos (College of Pharmacy) hvizdos@findlay.edu      
Allison Kiefner-Burmeister (College of Liberal Arts) kiefner-burmeister@findlay.edu
Lisa Sakemiller (College of Health Professions) ​sakemiller@findlay.edu 
Helen Schneider (College of Science) schneider@findl​ay.edu      
Beth Stewart (Center for Teaching Excellence) stewart@findlay.edu
Brent Wickham (College of Business) wickham@findlay.edu                  
Andrew Whitis (Shafer Library) whitis@findlay.edu