Excel@Teaching 2017

Empowering Student Learners

Denecker, Christine.png

Christine Denecker, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
Associate Professor of English

Welcome!


Welcome to Excel at Teaching: The Third Annual University of Findlay Teaching Conference sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence. The CTE has enjoyed the opportunity to participate in and support the growth and development of this event, as its goals of highlighting and celebrating best teaching practices in higher education are at the heart of the CTE’s mission. The synergy created through the interaction of staff and of faculty members from each UF college in planning the symposium suggests an even greater synergy that will occur when we join together with our regional partners in March to focus on our most important endeavor as educators: teaching and learning.
 
The conference offers a unique opportunity for dialogue and for exploration of the innovative efforts of faculty and staff to empower students to engage in deep learning. In addition, the presentations and conference activities promise to strengthen each participant’s commitment to “Excel at Teaching.” Please join us for what promises to be an invigorating, inspiring, and motivating event!

 
Sarah Fedirka

Sarah Fedirka, Ph.D.

Excel @ Teaching Committee Chair
Assistant Professor of English
Excel @ Teaching grew out of a shared idea that a platform was needed to showcase best teaching practices at the University of Findlay. Our teachers excel at teaching, and we wanted to celebrate those successes. Now in its third year, Excel @ Teaching continues to grow beyond those original aspirations. For 2017, we look forward to participation from the larger community of teachers and educators. The conference is designed to promote robust dialog about college teaching at all levels. It is intended as a place to exchange practical strategies and theoretical discussion so as to enhance our teaching and increase student learning. In line with this year’s theme empowering student learners, Excel @ Teaching 2017 promises to offer diverse perspectives on how to encourage students to take control of their own learning and to create learning environments that motivate students. We hope those who attend the conference come away inspired and energized for the important work they do.


University of Findlay Committee Members:

 
Allison Baer (College of Education) baer@findlay.edu                    
Lindsey Buddelmeyer (College of Health Professions) buddelmeyer@findlay.edu
Chris Denecker (Center for Teaching Excellence) denecker@findlay.edu        
Sarah Fedirka (College of Liberal Arts) fedirka@findlay.edu
Andrew Hvizdos (College of Pharmacy) hvizdos@findlay.edu      
Allison Kiefner-Burmeister (College of Liberal Arts) kiefner-burmeister@findlay.edu
Helen Schneider (College of Science) schneider@findl​ay.edu      
Beth Stewart (Center for Teaching Excellence) stewart@findlay.edu
Brent Wickham (College of Business) wickham@findlay.edu                  
Andrew Whitis (Shafer Library) whitis@findlay.edu